John Keells Group (A) crowned as champions of the MCA Super Premier T20 Tournament

At the MC Super Premier T20 Tournament’s finals held at MCA Grounds on 25th June 2022 John Keells Group emerged as the winners by defeating MODE Engineering by 4 runs.

The John Keells Group team struggled after being given the opportunity to bat first, losing 4 top-order batters for just 22 runs during the powerplay. However, the match-winning combination for the fifth wicket, which included 94 runs, was formed by number three batter Kavin Bandara and number six batter Sachitha Jayathilake. Bandara added 42 runs off 33 balls with two fours and two sixes, while Jayathilake scored 62 runs off 39 balls with seven sixes. Chasing a target of 157 for victory JKH prevailed in a thrilling final over win with Man of the Finals Sachitha Jayathilake coming out on top defending 12 runs. Skipper Ishan Jayaratne also shined with the ball taking 3 for 14 in his four overs.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *